Summer Madness – August 22, 2018

| Radio

22 is an auspicious number, and August is hot, especially this one.  Anyway, we’re all mad here.  Welcome to the Bubble Wrap radio show write-up, back after a long chaotic hiatus.  (The chaos isn’t over — we’re just taking a break from it.)  Life spills over into everything so this show was a bit chaotic too, but pleasantly so.  We got everything from sacred Nepalese chant to civil defense ads, with a few pop songs thrown in.

For starters, we’ve been listening to the new La Souterraine compilation, Aristocrate, which includes a new collection of enjoyably experimental music, as always.  We especially liked a folky track called “Politique” by Cheval Blanc as well as the Franco German chanteuse in “Es War Nicht” by Ruines.  The Nepalese chant was on this comp as well.

Other hits of the evening:  Haerts’ “New Compassion,” a nicely crafted pop tune from yet another Brooklyn artist; Dilly Dally’s “I Feel Free,” because it’s rare to be able to say that and they say it well; and Bloods’ “Feelings” which brought me back to the early 80s girl group sound especially The Go Gos.

Still playing the odd spoken word number.  In a timely ad, Art Linklater warned us all to prepare for nuclear annihilation by digging and stocking a bomb shelter.  Ah, the 50s!

Enjoy all the little numbers below.

August 22, 2018
Summer Madness

Glenn Jones – The Sunken Amusement Park
Bootsy Collins – What’s Wrong Radio
Karma – Now That’s Bionic

Cheval Blanc – Politique
Trampled by Turtles – The Middle
Haerts – New Compassion

Aldous Huxley – Brave New World Part 2
Art Linklater – Civil Defense Spot
John “Mighty Mouth” Moschitta – Grapes of Wrath

Patoranking – Heal D World
Document sonore d’Aurore Laurent et Adrien Viel – Chant Sacré Tamang – Népal

Homer and Jethro – Battle of Kookamonga
Cheech Marin – My Name Is Cheech the School Bus Driver

Ruines – Es War Nicht
Holy Esque – I Am The Truth
Dilly Dally – I Feel Free

Beach Boys – Smile Backing Vocal Montage

Versing – Silver Dollar
Neil and Liam Finn – Ghosts
Bloods – Feelings

Kool & the Gang – Summer Madness
Art of Noise – Moments in Love
The Love Language – New Amsterdam
Kraftwerk – Tour de France